People of the North — Deep Tissue

I’m dog sitting this week for an adorable little pup named Ash. There’s a stack of records as tall as him waiting to be digested and reviewed. Unfortunately for most of those records, the pup wins.

However, this debut album from People of the North (comprised of members of Oneida), with its layered drone and psychedelic riffs, fits in perfectly with pup time. Ash immediately hopped onto my bed and placed his furry little head on a t-shirt pillow as I become transported into this heady soundscape.

Coincidentally, I’m in the midst of reading Salome Voegelin’s Listening to Noise and Silence. Voegelin explains, “A philosophy of sound art must have at its core the principle of sharing time and space with the object or event under consideration. It is a philosophical project that necessitates an involved participation.” And while Voegelin’s writing can be distractingly theoretical, it details the crux of the active listening and music discourse. “The sonic sensibility put forward in this process re-focuses philosophical problems around objectivity and subjectivity; it questions the notion of a transcendental a priori; and via the notion of interpretative fantasies, connects the experience of sound with the notion of virtuality.”

But this ain’t no philosophy blog. I’m merely drawing the connection because Deep Tissue, an admirable effort in sonic transportation, is, personally, an album which can only be enjoyed in a specific mental and physical environment. I’m not going to listen to this album unless I have the ability to completely zone out for forty minutes; in a state which will afford me the energy to focus on the subtle vocal echoing and rolling synth on “The Vastest Island” or juxtaposition of sludgy guitars and neat percussion on “Tunnels”.

So, as I watch this black mop of fur roam from corner to corner, seemingly elated by the sunlight that peers in through my windows, and eventually surrender to the feather-topped mattress, I think to myself, “He gets it.”

And as the needle returns back to its origin, I realize that I got it, too.

Recommended for some super chill-out times.

-sibel yaman

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to People of the North — Deep Tissue

  1. jenna says:

    sounds rad. going to google that shit. now.

Leave a Reply

